Latest News

Speaker blocks FDC appointments

By Parliament Press

The Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga, has blocked the appointment of FDC’s William Nzoghu to replace Prof. Ogenga Latigo at the Pan African Parliament.

In one of the several changes including the dropping of the Leader of the Opposition, Hon. Winfred Kiiza, in favour of Gulu district representative, Hon. Betty Aol, the Opposition designated Nzoghu to Midrand, South Africa, as one of Uganda’s five representatives to the continental legislature.

The Speaker gave her ruling during the plenary sitting on Tuesday, 14 August 2018.

Quoting from the Protocol that sets up the Pan African Parliament, the Speaker said that Prof. Latigo’s replacement does not meet the disqualifications of a member of the institution. The Protocol provides that a member ceases to be a member of PAP if he/she dies, is unable to fulfil his/her duties due to physical or mental incapacity, ceases to satisfy the eligibility criteria stipulated in the Protocol or resigns in writing to the President.

“It is clear that once a Member of Parliament has been elected to PAP such a member will serve a five year term,” said Kadaga adding that ”Since none of the above have occurred to “[Latigo], the designation of another Member to replace him is not tenable.”

The current term of Uganda’s representatives to PAP ends at the end of the 10th Parliament in 2021.

Kadaga also clarified that since the Parliament Rules of Procedure provide the term of a Parliamentary Commissioner to be two and half years, the appointment of Hon. Francis Mwijukye can only be effective in December this year.

“The appointment of Hon. Mwijukye therefore, cannot be effective since [Hon. Cecila Ogwal] has not served her prescribed two and half years,” Kadaga said.

The Speaker however appealed to FDC to keep the leadership of the oversight committees in place until the end of the year to allow them complete pending work and present their reports.

“Whereas the FDC is empowered under Rule 157 of our Rules of Procedure to make changes in the leadership of Standing Committees, I believe the timing of this change is not favorable to the smooth operation of those committees and especially parliamentary business. The expiration of their tenure in any case should be 31st December 2018,” she said.

FDC appointed Hon. Mubarak Munyagwa (FDC, Kawempe South) to chair the Committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises (COSASE); Hon. Franca Akello (FDC, Agago district) to chair Local Government; and Hon. Nandala Mafabi (FDC, Budadiri West) to chair the Committee on Public Accounts.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your True Source of Information
To Top
error: Content is protected !!